News by Date
News by Category
Solar System
White Dwarfs
Neutron Stars
Black Holes
Milky Way Galaxy
Normal Galaxies
Galaxy Clusters
Cosmology/Deep Field
Press Resources
Status Reports
Press Advisories
Image Releases
Release Guidelines
Image Use Policy
Web Shortcuts
Chandra Blog
RSS Feed
Email Newsletter
News & Noteworthy
Image Use Policy
Questions & Answers
Glossary of Terms
Download Guide
Get Adobe Reader
Related Links

Chandra @ NASA
Visit the Chandra pages at the NASA portal (opens in new window)
Image Use
Image Use Policy & Request Form
Guidelines for utilizing images, applets, movies, and animations featured in this Web Site.
2014 Einstein Fellows Chosen

For Release: April 2, 2014


NASA has announced the selection of the 2014 Einstein Fellows who will conduct research related to NASA's Physics of the Cosmos (PCOS) program, which aims to expand our knowledge of the origin, evolution, and fate of the Universe. The PCOS Program consists of a suite of operating science missions and possible future missions that focus on specific aspects of these questions.

The Einstein Fellowship provides support to the awardees for three years, and the Fellows may pursue their research at a host university or research center of their choosing in the United States. The new Fellows will begin their programs in the fall of 2014.

"We are excited to welcome this talented group of young scientists as the incoming Einstein Fellows,” said Harvey Tananbaum, Director of the Chandra X-ray Center at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory that manages the Einstein Fellows program for NASA. “We eagerly anticipate their research which will advance the quest to better understand the physics of the cosmos."

The new Einstein Fellows in alphabetical order and their host institutions are listed below:

  • Sagi Ben-Ami (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Cambridge, Mass.)
  • Blakesley Burkhart (Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.)
  • Justin Ellis (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.)
  • Wen-fai Fong (University of Arizona, Tucson)
  • Francois Foucart (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, Calif.)
  • Kazumi Kashiyama (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Ji-hoon Kim (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif.)
  • Ashley King (Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.)
  • Aleksander Sadowski (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.)
  • Johan Samsing (Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.)
  • Grant Tremblay (Yale University, New Haven, Conn.)
  • Hsiang-Yi Karen Yang (University of Maryland, College Park)

NASA has two other astrophysics theme-based fellowship programs: the Sagan Fellowship Program that supports research in exoplanet exploration; and the Hubble Fellowship Program that supports research into cosmic origins. For more information about NASA's Astrophysics Division, visit

Full biographies and other information about this year's Einstein Fellows, including each Fellow's research plans, are available at

More information on the Einstein Fellowships can be found at

Media contacts:
Megan Watzke
Chandra X-ray Center, Cambridge, Mass.